Bodum double-walled glasses, 50 cents each

Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

I am very much in love with the op-shop’s glass pricing policy. The Bodum double-walled glasses are only little, and little glasses cost 50 cents. Big glasses cost a dollar, probably. So I now own three little Bodum double-walled glasses for the princely sum of $1.50.

At first, I thought “ooh, science equipment”, but now I think “tea!”

Also from the same shop, a fold out cake stand. Tell me, does it not remind you of a cyberman? Or is my Doctor Who obsession showing again?

Husband is very fond of fruit cake, not so fond of peel, so every six months or so I gather together the ridiculous volume of ingredients it takes to make the above recipe (Australian Women’s Weekly Cakes and Slices Cookbook, p.69) and spend a whole day in and out of the kitchen, boiling fruit, letting it cool and then baking then cooling again. Luckily the result is worth it. I replace all the peel and rind and ridiculous ingredients with sweetened dried pineapple and voila! fruitcake. No need to decorate or anything! Just my sort of cake.

About Prue

Ms Prue is fictional for the purposes of real life but real for the purposes of the internet.
This entry was posted in I bought it at the op-shop! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

